Helsinki

Two weeks ago, me and some friends visited Helsinki and the geography students there. Since I only was there for 4       days, I didn’t have time to see much, but I still got a good impression of the city and the Finnish people.


Click on the images to come to the image galleries. Gallery 2 is only from the botanical garden.

When we came the first day we was picked up at the airport by our hosts. After a really good lunch we visited the Department of Geosciences and Geography in Kumpala campus. In the evening the first day we had a fun bar game. Day 2: We had a city tour, later we tried some luging and we ended the day in a hot sauna. Day 3: We visited the botanical garden in Kaisaniemi, and then we had half a day of free time. I used my free time to visit the Design Museum because I was interested in seeing some Finnish design. When I was there the museum had an exposition about Korea and another about Marimekko. I also walked a lot in the streets of Helsinki and did some shopping. I the evening we did something called Sitsit (click the link to read more about it). Basically it’s a party where you sit around a table and eat, drink and sing a lot. Day 4: Since I had to leave one day earlier than the other ones this was my last day in Helsinki. we used the day to visit Saurasaari, a small half-island outside Helsinki. This place has a lot of old houses and was like a big museum. In the evening before I had to leave we visited Pihlajamäki, which was the suburb where I lived.

I really liked Helsinki. I hope to visit the city again soon and also see more of Finland. The people there are nice and helpful. The way of living is “Scandinavian”, so for a Norwegian like me it wasn’t a very big change to be in Helsinki. I also understand and can read Swedish, so it was easy for me to understand the road signs which was in both Finnish and Swedish. The hardest part of the trip must be the sauna, because it was a lot warmer than I’m used to.

Categories: Studies, travel | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Helsinki

  1. Hilde Emilie

    Hei André 🙂 Jeg må bare si at du har en kjempefin blogg! Det er veldig kjekt å titte gjennom tingene du skriver og bilder du har tatt. Kos deg med det videre, det er gøy å følge med! God klem sendes fra Hilde Emilie

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

